11/22/15 – NAIC Elects 2016 Officers

      No Comments on 11/22/15 – NAIC Elects 2016 Officers


Elections included zone officers

WASHINGTON, D.C. (Nov. 22, 2015) Members of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) today elected 2016 officers:

President: Missouri Insurance Director John M. Huff

President-Elect: Kentucky Insurance Commissioner Sharon P. Clark

Vice President: Wisconsin Insurance Commissioner Ted Nickel

Secretary-Treasurer: Tennessee Insurance Commissioner Julie Mix McPeak

The newly elected officers will assume their duties on Jan. 1, 2016.

John M. Huff, a native of Potosi, Mo. was appointed as Director of the Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration by Gov. Jay Nixon on Feb. 6, 2009. An attorney, Director Huff leads the department that protects consumers through the regulation of professionals and businesses that impact Missourians’ lives daily.

In September 2010, Huff was appointed to the U.S. Financial Stability Oversight Council by the NAIC. He served two terms on the council and was the initial state insurance regulator appointed. The council was created by the 2010 Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act. Before entering public service, he spent 11 years as an executive with leading insurers and reinsurers, including Swiss Re and GE Insurance Solutions.

Huff earned his bachelor’s degree in business administration from Southeast Missouri State University. He earned an MBA at Saint Louis University, and his juris doctor degree from the Washington University School of Law in St. Louis.

Sharon P. Clark, a veteran of Kentucky state government, was appointed Commissioner of the Department of Insurance (DOI) in July 2008 and was reappointed to the post in July 2012. Commissioner Clark was the first director of the DOI’s Consumer Protection and Education Division, a position she held for five years. Under her leadership, the Department hired its first ombudsman, added consumer education and outreach functions, and strengthened enforcement efforts by expanding the number of consumer complaint investigators.

Commissioner Clark serves as the chair of the Kentucky Health Benefit Exchange Advisory Board and is a member of the Kentucky Group Health Insurance Board. She is also past Secretary-Treasurer of the National Insurance Producer Registry board and is interim chair of the Surplus Lines Multistate Compliance Compact. Prior to being appointed Insurance Commissioner, Clark worked at the Finance and Administration Cabinet. She also held positions for the Kentucky House of Representatives, the Public Service Commission, and the former Workforce Development Cabinet.

Clark earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Kentucky. She and her husband have two daughters and three grandchildren.

Ted Nickel was appointed by Governor Scott Walker as Commissioner of Insurance for the state of Wisconsin on Jan. 3, 2011. Prior to his appointment, Nickel worked for almost 18 years as director of governmental and regulatory affairs for Church Mutual Insurance Company in Merrill, WI.

He has been actively engaged in insurance industry affairs in Wisconsin and has served on the board of directors of the Wisconsin Insurance Alliance. Nickel served on the board of directors of the Wisconsin Insurance Security Fund and the Oklahoma Property Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association, as well as having served as a member of the Legal and Government Affairs Committee of the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America. Nickel also worked in the administration of former Wisconsin Governor Tommy Thompson.

He earned his bachelor’s degree in business administration with a concentration in finance from Valparaiso University.

Julie Mix McPeak was appointed by Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam to lead the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance on January 12, 2011. McPeak is the first woman to serve as chief insurance regulator in more than one state. She brings to the department nearly 20 years of legal and administrative experience in state government.

Before being named as Commissioner of the Department of Commerce and Insurance, McPeak practiced as counsel to the insurance practice group of law firm Burr & Forman LLP. She also served as the executive director of the Kentucky Office of Insurance (KOI). Before her appointment as executive director, she spent nine years as an attorney for the KOI, the final five as general counsel. She also served as general counsel to the Kentucky Personnel Cabinet.

McPeak earned a juris doctor from the University of Louisville School of Law in 1994. She is a 1990 graduate of the University of Kentucky, where she earned a bachelor‘s degree, with distinction, in marketing.

2016 Zone Officers Elected

NAIC members also elected 2016 zone officers during the Fall National Meeting.

Northeastern Zone

  • Susan L. Donegan – Chair, Vermont
  • Eric A. Cioppa – Vice Chair, Maine
  • Al Redmer, Jr. – Secretary, Maryland

Southeastern Zone

  • Jim L. Ridling – Chair, Alabama
  • Wayne Goodwin – Vice Chair, North Carolina
  • Mike Chaney – Secretary, Mississippi

Midwestern Zone

  • Bruce R. Ramge – Chair, Nebraska
  • Nick Gerhart – Vice Chair, Iowa
  • John D. Doak – Secretary, Oklahoma

Western Zone

  • Dave Jones – Chair, California
  • Laura N. Cali – Vice Chair, Oregon
  • David Mattax – Secretary, Texas

Leave a Reply